Updated 17 October 2026

The C1 (7.5 tonne) licence: what it covers, what it costs, and keeping it at 70

Who needs a C1 licence, what it lets you drive, what Kent courses cost, what the codes on older licences mean, and whether the rules are changing.

Checked 17 October 2026.

Short answer

C1 lets you drive vehicles from 3,500kg to 7,500kg, such as 7.5 tonne lorries, larger horseboxes and motorhomes, and ambulances, with a trailer up to 750kg. If you passed your car test before 1 January 1997 you probably already have it. If not, you need a C1 test: Kent courses cost £745 to £1,490 all in. The government hasn't changed the 7.5 tonne rules: the only change so far is that car licence holders can drive electric and hydrogen vehicles up to 4,250kg.

What C1 lets you drive

  • C1: vehicles over 3,500kg and up to 7,500kg maximum authorised mass, with a trailer up to 750kg.
  • C1+E: a C1 vehicle with a heavier trailer, up to 12,000kg combined. On pre-1997 licences C1+E carries code 107, which limits the combination to 8,250kg.
  • A car licence alone covers up to 3,500kg, or 4,250kg for electric and hydrogen vehicles. What a car licence covers.

Licences from before 1997: the codes

Drivers who passed their car test before 1 January 1997 were given C1 and D1 automatically. The restriction codes on the back of the photocard say how far that goes:

CodeMeaningUsually shown against
107Not more than 8,250kgC1+E
101Not for hire or rewardD1, D1+E (minibuses)
111Limited to 16 passenger seatsD1+E
119Weight limit for the vehicle doesn't applyD1+E
97Not allowed to drive C1 vehicles that need a tachographC1, on some licences

Source: GOV.UK, driving licence codes and old driving licence categories.

Keeping C1 at 70

  • At 70, to keep C1 and D1 you need a D4 medical, and then another every 3 years.
  • You can't renew C1 or D1 through the online over-70 service: it has to be done by post.
  • For C1, drivers renewing grandfather rights get an eyesight concession: the number-plate test and 6/12 vision. D1 needs the full lorry and bus eyesight standard.

Source: DVLA, INF4D notes (April 2026); GOV.UK, renew at 70.

What a C1 course costs in Kent

Cheapest all in first. "All in" adds the medical, theory tests and DVSA test fees where the price leaves them out. Driver CPC is left out, because many C1 drivers don't drive for a living.

ProviderAdvertisedAll inCab hoursPer cab hour
Start 2 Drive HGVC1 Crush Course (10 hrs)£650£74510£75
Start 2 Drive HGVC1 14 hours, 4 day£750£84514£60
Kent and Medway LGV TrainingC1 (7.5 tonne)£845£940Not stated–
HGV Training Hub7.5 Tonne (Cat C1) - Training Only£875£97012£81
Learn2Pass HGVC1 7.5 tonne£875£970Not stated–
A-Class Driving SchoolCategory C1 - 7.5T£995£1,245Not stated–
TrainDriveC1 Licence (7.5 tonne)£1,056£1,306Not stated–
HGV Training Hub7.5 Tonne (Cat C1) - Full Package£1,490£1,49012£124

DVSA fees for C1: theory tests £37 and practical tests £155 on a weekday. If you'll drive a C1 vehicle for a living, add Driver CPC Modules 2 and 4 (£78). Every Kent price.

C1 or Class 2?

If you want a driving job, Class 2 covers everything C1 does plus lorries over 7.5 tonnes, and far more jobs need it. C1 makes sense for ambulance and emergency work, horseboxes, motorhomes and some delivery jobs. Which lorry licence to get.

Is the government changing the C1 rules?

  • In 2022, the Department for Transport asked for views on letting car licence holders drive C1 and D1 vehicles. It published a summary of responses in June 2023 and, as of October 2026, says it's still considering them. Nothing has changed.
  • On motorhomes, the Department said in March 2026 that it hadn't assessed letting car licence holders drive motorhomes up to 4,250kg.
  • The one change in force: since 10 June 2025, car licence holders can drive electric and hydrogen vehicles up to 4,250kg without extra training.

Common questions

What can I drive on a C1 licence?

Vehicles over 3,500kg and up to 7,500kg maximum authorised mass, such as 7.5 tonne lorries, larger horseboxes, motorhomes and ambulances, with a trailer up to 750kg.

Do I keep my C1 licence at 70?

Only if you renew it by post and pass a D4 medical, then a new medical every 3 years. C1 can't be renewed through the online over-70 service.

What does code 107 mean on my licence?

Not more than 8,250kg. On licences from before 1997 it's usually shown against C1+E, limiting a C1 vehicle and trailer to 8,250kg combined.

Is the government letting car drivers drive 7.5 tonne vehicles?

Not as of October 2026. A 2022 call for evidence asked about it and the Department for Transport says it's still considering the responses. The only change is that car licence holders can drive electric and hydrogen vehicles up to 4,250kg.

How much does a C1 licence cost in Kent?

Kent C1 courses cost roughly £745 to £1,490 all in, including the medical, theory tests and DVSA test fees, for 10 to 14 hours in the cab.

Sources: GOV.UK, licence categories; DfT, driving licensing review; Petition response, March 2026.