Updated 17 October 2026

Driver CPC periodic training: what it costs in Kent and online

Every qualified lorry driver needs 35 hours of Driver CPC training every 5 years. Published prices from 21 courses, classroom and online, plus the rules on International and National CPC, e-learning and the return-to-driving course.

Prices checked 17 October 2026, from each provider's own website.

Short answer

Live online courses cost a middle of £45.50 per 7-hour module (£22.75 to £123.60), so about £228 for the full 35 hours. Classroom days at schools in and near Kent cost £68.75 to £99. Some providers sell all 35 hours online as a package for £113.75 to £358.75.

Choose International courses if you might ever drive in the EU: taking even one National course gives you a card valid in the UK only.

Classroom courses in and near Kent

Price per 7-hour day, including VAT.

ProviderWherePer 7 hours35 hoursNotes
RoadTrainWest Thurrock, Essex (by the Dartford Crossing)£68.75–Doesn't say whether VAT is included
The Training CabinAt employers' premises or its own venue£68.75–Groups of 8 to 10 only
Gordon Springate Transport TrainingDetling, Maidstone£74.75–
Driver Training CentreHastings, East Sussex£99£399
Logistics UKTunbridge Wells£176.75–£147.29 plus VAT

These run courses at Kent venues but don't publish prices: Crownwell Training (Maidstone), Sigma Studies (Rochester), Pride Training (Aylesford, Larkfield, Whitstable and Sheerness), Globetrotter CPC Driver Training (Shepherdswell, near Dover), Total Compliance (Sevenoaks), CPC Driver Solution (Tunbridge Wells area). Ask for a price per day, including VAT and the DVSA upload fee.

Live online courses

Live, instructor-led sessions over video call. Price per 7 hours.

ProviderPer 7 hours35 hours packageCounts towards
Enterprise Transport Training£22.75£113.75Both (International 7h; National 3.5h)
Voyager Transport Training£24–Both: International 7h and National 3.5h courses
HGV CPC (hgvcpc.co.uk)Doesn't say whether VAT is included£29.75–International
CPC ExpressDoesn't say whether VAT is included£33.99£149.957h courses listed as 'National & International'; 3.5h National
Hartlip HGV Driving School£37.50–Not stated (sold as 7-hour pairs of 3.5h modules within 24h)
Atlas Training Solutions£40£170International and National approved
Transcom National Training£45–Not stated
National Compliance TrainingDoesn't say whether VAT is included£46–Counts towards International and National
Driver Hire Training£49£245Not stated on page (separate 'DCPC National' listings exist)
National CPC£49.99£220Both
Fleet Source£54–Not stated on page (JAUPT course code ICRS = International)
Dulson TrainingDoesn't say whether VAT is included£60–International (evening 2 x 3.5h within 24h = 7h International)
Wallace School of Transport£71.75£358.75International ('perfect for drivers who want to work in the UK or to work Internationally in Europe')
Logistics UK£123.60–Not stated

E-learning (self-paced) courses: Dulson Training £60 per 7 hours, Gordon Springate Transport Training £68 per 7 hours. No more than 12 of your 35 hours can be e-learning.

The rules

  • 35 hours every 5 years to keep driving lorries for a living. Each hour counts for 5 years from the date you take it. Your deadline is the date on your Driver CPC card.
  • International or National. Since 3 December 2024, you need 35 hours of International courses to drive in the UK and the EU. If any course in your 35 hours is National, you get a National card marked "Domestic UK use only". International hours count towards National, but not the other way round.
  • Course length. International courses are at least 7 hours and can be split over 2 consecutive days. National courses can be as short as 3 hours 30 minutes, in person or online.
  • E-learning is capped at 12 hours out of the 35. Anything over that doesn't count.
  • The DVSA upload fee is £1.25 per hour, so £8.75 for a 7-hour course. The training centre pays it, and most include it in the price. Your hours only count once it's paid.
  • Check your hours on GOV.UK's "check your Driver CPC periodic training hours" service, with your licence number and postcode.

If your Driver CPC has run out

Since 1 February 2025, if your Driver CPC expired less than 2 years ago you can take a 7-hour "return to driving" course and drive in the UK once it's recorded. You then have 12 months to complete the other 28 hours. You can only use this once every 5 years. If it ran out more than 2 years ago, you need the full 35 hours first.

Cards and penalties

  • Your new card is sent automatically once your 35 hours are recorded. A replacement costs £25.
  • Driving professionally without Driver CPC can mean a fine of up to £1,000, and not carrying your card a £50 fixed penalty.

Who pays

Many employers pay for periodic training, but they don't have to. If your employer pays, you don't pay tax on it. Self-employed drivers can usually claim training that keeps up skills they already use in their business as an expense; check with HMRC or an accountant.

Related: ADR courses that count towards CPC hours · CPC Module 2 and 4 · Bus and lorry drivers

Common questions

How much does Driver CPC periodic training cost?

Live online courses cost a middle of £45.50 per 7-hour module on published prices, so roughly £228 for 35 hours. Classroom days at schools in and near Kent cost £68.75 to £99.

Can I do all my Driver CPC online?

Live online courses are widely available. Self-paced e-learning is capped at 12 of your 35 hours.

What is the difference between International and National Driver CPC?

Since 3 December 2024, 35 hours of International courses lets you drive in the UK and EU. If any of your courses is National, you get a card valid in the UK only.

What if my Driver CPC has expired?

If it expired less than 2 years ago, a 7-hour return-to-driving course lets you drive in the UK again, with 12 months to complete the other 28 hours. Otherwise you need the full 35 hours.

How much is a replacement Driver CPC card?

£25. You can drive once you've paid for the replacement.

Sources: GOV.UK, Driver CPC training; GOV.UK, Driver CPC changes in 2024 and 2025; GOV.UK, recording training; providers' own websites.