Updated 17 October 2026

Intensive driving courses in Kent: prices, test booking and the small print

What a crash course costs in Kent, how national course sellers compare with local schools, and what "test included" or "fast-track test" can mean now that only the learner can book a car test.

Prices and terms checked 17 October 2026, from each company's own website.

Short answer

A 30-hour intensive course costs £1,080 to £1,815 on published Kent prices. Local schools charge about £36 to £46 an hour; the national course sellers we checked charge £47 to £61 an hour for the same 30 hours.

Since 12 May 2026 only the learner can book a car test. So a course "with a fast-tracked test" can now only mean help finding a cancellation: you'll book the test yourself, and nobody can guarantee a date. Check the deposit and refund terms before you pay.

30-hour courses compared

Manual, published prices. Some prices depend on your postcode; we've noted the one used.

ProviderType30 hoursPer hourTest
Topclass Driving SchoolLocal or regional school£1,080£36Not stated
Start and Go Driving SchoolLocal or regional school£1,080£36Not included; you book it
Smart Drive UKLocal or regional school£1,170£39Not stated
Kinetic Driving SchoolLocal or regional school£1,172£39£62 test fee included
LDC Driving Schools — sold by Kent LDC instructorsSemi-intensive, Maidstone (ME15) postcodeLocal or regional school£1,370£46Not included; you book it
PassMeFast"From" price, nationalNational course seller£1,410£47Sold as including a test or test help
Intensive LessonsPrice for a Maidstone (ME15) postcodeNational course seller£1,699£57Sold as including a test or test help
Crash Courses Driving SchoolNational course seller£1,815£61Sold as including a test or test help

Local schools' ordinary lessons cost a middle of £40 an hour in Kent. Kent driving lesson prices. Bill Plant says it doesn't offer intensive courses in Kent.

"Test included" after the May 2026 rules

Since 12 May 2026, only the learner can book, change or cancel a car driving test, and nobody else may book one for you. Here's how the course sellers we checked describe the test now:

  • PassMeFast says it can't book your test for you, and offers alerts and advice on when to look for one. Its first payment of £375 is non-refundable.
  • Intensive Lessons still sells courses "including fast-tracked test", but its terms say that from 12 May you'll have to make the booking change yourself. Its £175 online deposit is non-refundable.
  • Crash Courses Driving School still advertises a fast-track test booking service included in the price. Deposits are £296 to £549 depending on the course.
  • Local schools such as Start and Go, LDC instructors and John Harvey say plainly that you book your own theory and practical tests on GOV.UK.

Before you pay for a course sold with a test, ask: who books it, what happens to the course if no test date is available, and whether you get money back for unused hours.

Is an intensive course right for you?

  • It suits people who already have some experience, can take a week or two off, and have a test date booked or a realistic chance of one.
  • It's risky for complete beginners: 30 hours in a week or two is tiring, and if you aren't ready by the test you'll need more lessons anyway.
  • A semi-intensive course with a local school, spread over a few weeks, often costs less per hour and fits around a booked test date.
  • Book your test first, then plan the course around it. Waits at Kent centres were about 5 to 15 weeks in September 2026. Kent test centres.

Protect your money

  • Read the deposit and cancellation terms before you pay. Several national sellers make deposits non-refundable.
  • Pay by credit card where you can: Section 75 covers purchases over £100.
  • Never pay anyone who offers to book or sell you a test slot. Scams to watch for.

Common questions

How much is an intensive driving course in Kent?

A 30-hour course costs £1,080 to £1,815 on published prices. Local schools charge about £36 to £46 an hour; national course sellers £47 to £61.

Can an intensive course company book my driving test?

No. Since 12 May 2026 only the learner can book, change or cancel a car driving test. A course company can at most help you look for cancellations.

Are intensive driving course deposits refundable?

Often not. Several national course sellers make their deposit or first payment non-refundable, so read the terms before you pay.

Sources: each provider's prices and terms pages, linked above; GOV.UK, changes to driving test booking rules in 2026.